S 25°46’31.16  E 28°10.28.38

The Heritage Centre construction

The Heritage Centre construction

The Heritage Centre was inaugurated in September 2008 on the Voortrekker Monument heritage site. It houses the main offices of the Heritage Foundation as well as the Afrikanerbakens exhibition, the Afrikaanse Winkel and the museum and archive storage spaces and the library and reading room.

Due to the contributions of the following companies, institutions and authorities, Phase 1 was completed at a cost of more than RM12:

  • Department of Arts and Culture
  • Dagbreek Trust
  • ABSA Bank
  • Naspers / Media 24
  • HF Verwoerd Monument Fonds Trust
  • Sanlam
  • Het Jan Marais Nationale Fonds
  • Rupert Family Foundation
  • The Voortrekker Monument
  • Dr Marie Luttig Trust
  • Rupert Historical Houses Foundation
  • Die Afrikanerbond
  • Afrikaans Language and Cultural Association (ATKV)
  • Die Voortrekkers
  • Solidariteit

In 2013 the growing need for extended archive storage, a gallery, offices and a small conference facility resulted in the construction of additional facilities which were inaugurated in November 2014. Phase 2 was funded by the Department of Arts and Culture.


SADF Columbarium and Wall of Remembrance



The Heritage Foundation has made 280 special niches available on the Voortrekker Monument Heritage Site for utilization by all former and civilian members of the SA Defence Force. Each niche can accommodate two mortal remains. Cost: R4600.00, engraving: R150.00.

Persons who have already purchased a niche at the Voortrekker Monument Garden of Remembrance, may move to the new wall free of charge, should they prefer to do so.

Enquiries: Lidia Hendriks – 082 564 4840


The Heritage Foundation administers the Ebo Trust, and played a pivotal role in the project to exhume and repatriate the mortal remains of the Ebo Four to South Africa in 2012.


The South African Defence Force (SADF) Wall of Remembrance has been erected to pay tribute to the members of the SADF who lost their lives in service to the country over the period 31 May 1961 to 27 April 1994 (the birth of the SANDF). The names of the members who died in action, are indicated with an asterisk (*).